Retail: Beautiful Frustration

Retail. Often times the definition of retail to me is

tedious, mundane, frustration

There are days I come home and it’s all I can do to keep from crawling in a hole because my shift has been full of people who think they are the center of the universe and that it’s my role in life to be their door mat. There are days I have to bite my tongue. There are days that I fight back tears.

But then

An old man walks in, grabs me by the hands and starts dancing with me to the music playing in the store just because he wanted to dance with someone. His smile made my day. I can’t dance, but it didn’t matter.

A woman I helped earlier in the year brings her friend in to shop because she said I gave her the best service she has ever received in a store.

A couple gives me a hug and their card, telling me they can get me a seat at a Nascar race any time I want to because they enjoyed their time with me.

A man grabs my hands over the counter after I ring him up and prays for me.

A woman and her daughter donate $20 to St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital because they saved the daughters life and the mom didn’t have to pay a dime.

There is always a silver lining. There are always people that make the job worth it. There are always moments that make you realize that life is not about you at all, its about loving others and serving them.

If you have your bad days, you can have mercy on others who also have bad days. You never know what people are going through. Do not take everything personally. Focus on the highlights and be grateful.

I am blessed. That’s all there is to it. God is good.

Leave a Reply

