Introverted idealist 

  1. I like the idea of travel. Like any other 20 something I enjoy curling up on the sofa and living vicariously through Rick Steves (or maybe that’s just me). I make a mental list of all my favorite places he visits and tell myself one day I’ll just drop everything and go. So far I’ve maybe gone to the mountains in my own state once this whole year. Really got a jump on that one.
  2. I like the idea of being an artist. I’ll read books about art and familiarize myself with enough famous artists to feel sophisticated and then I’ll sit down and sketch a horse in a hipster location and wonder if anyone else sees how artist-like I look (truth be told I got bored before I even got to the shading). 
  3. I love the idea of being an extrovert. I look at photos of my friends hanging out with their groups of friends and make mental notes on all the social gathering invites from my church and think to myself, “this week I’m gonna be a kool kid and broaden my community!” (By the time I get off work I groan at group texts and curl up with a book) (way to build community Kat! You’re a shining star in the eyes of those around you)
  4. I like the idea of being healthy and hiking the Apalachain trail one day. I look at pictures and read adventure blogs and I’m super pumped up to the point that those brownies call from the kitchen and my favorite show comes on. Then I look in the mirror the next morning and wonder “what happened yesterday? Didn’t you work out- oh wait..”

It’s at this point I realize the real me is tshirts and sweatpants and writing in my candlelit room.

The real me is coffee and a quiet evening on my porch watching the sun set with a good book close by. 

The real me is a foodie that needs to get her butt in shape and duck tape her mouth shut because she can’t resist a good brownie.

The real me prefers keeping up to date through YouTube to big crowds and socializing for hours, not because I’m shy but because I enjoy my alone time and people can be a bit exhausting sometimes.

The real me likes Walt Whitman more than she should and has headphones as a permanent fixture around her neck. 

The real me is an introverted idealist and I’m kind of ok with that. 

7 thoughts on “Introverted idealist 

Leave a Reply

