Addicted to self-destruction

I hate social media.

I hate my need to live vicariously through it.

I hate that it opens doors to show other people the best of who we are and what we do and almost always covers up everything else.

I hate that I have become a person who relies on it to remind me of birthdays and important events for people I claim that I care so much about.

I hate all the politics, spam, and makeup party invites that make you want to unfriend good people.

I hate comparing myself to pictures taken at the right angles and looking at group photos when I’m sitting in my room all alone.

I hate that numbers equal worth and that people get offended if your relationships aren’t “facebook official.”

I hate all the false expectations social media adds to. Pictures of couples that seem perfect for each other in every way, beautiful weddings, cute babies, families that seem to always be happy, and the most adorable pets and best parts of homes.

Does everyone really have it all together but me?

I hate how addicted I am to self-destruction.

The screen becomes my mirror and I don’t like what I see.

This is what social media does to me.

And what do I do but wear the same masks as everyone else…

19 thoughts on “Addicted to self-destruction

  1. Thank you sooooo much for your honesty!! I know I don’t have it all together….. The other day I lost control of myself and really told off someone I care about deeply. It was ugly. But I believe in a God who forgives us, loves us just as we are and will help us through anything if we just ask.

    You are Amazing !!!

    Thank you 🙃

  2. I’m glad you shared all the things you hate. There is good reason to be upset by all of that fake stuff.

    There are times and ways that I am and have been self destructive. Part of my deliverance is in finding the positive aspects of something, if at all possible. It can be hard. Sometimes I just have to find the funny side or anything to laugh about, even if it is myself.

    I get frustrated by internet, but I’ve also seen and felt the benefits. To me, the benefits currently outweigh the negatives.

    Sometimes I just want to hide in a hole and never come out. You show courage in facing it and telling it like it is.

    Ann

  3. This is fantastic! So much truth in this post! That is why a few days ago, I decided to take a break from FB. I spend hours in a day on FB, all just wasted hours. But as you mention in the title–it’s addicting. I was only able to go without for ONE day! Lol! 🙂 So, I’m just going to keep trying so I can put those extra hours in to writing my book!

  4. Lots of truth here, BUT we also have a choice in what we choose to see & how we interpret it. I understand your post as I was a cynic most of my life. (I actually DO have a contended life now.)
    Remember: before social media, people complained about ALL PCs and how it was running our lives. Before that, it was TV. Or the movies. Before that, it was radio. Before that, it was books. Before that, well, I’m not sure, but I’m sure there was something! 😉
    My mom thought computers were ruining the world. All she saw was that her kids & grandkids seem more interested in that than human relations. But I remember when she thought I read too much.
    There will always be good & evil in the world. But there will always be ways to focus on the good. We each must find our own way in this world. If we follow others, we surely will be as miserable as they are!
    Peace, love & moderation,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda’s historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y
    Her husband made a video for her novel. He wrote the song too:

Leave a Reply

