Two Short One Silly

I decided to try my hand at a haiku and a limerick. I have never really put much thought into writing my poems in proper form and as I am currently taking a poetry class I have been challenged to do so.

The haiku is a traditionally short poem, commonly about nature, with three lines of 5,  7, 5 syllables.

Sunrise
The morning sun fills

my heart with much needed hope
as it warms my skin.

A limerick is also a traditionally short poem, commonly known for it’s silliness and frequently bawdy flavor. It has a rhyme scheme of aabba and five lines with varying lengths. The first and second lines often have 7-10 syllables, the third and fourth lines should be shorter with 5 syllables, and the fifth line should have 7-10 syllables again.

Elf on the Shelf
There was a small elf on a shelf

That could not move far by himself.
Each day he would wait
For his preordained fate
In hopes it would not cost his health.

 

Leave a Reply

