Born Again

Born Again (Free Verse)
By Kathryn Best (me)

Sitting alone in the blanket of night
silently alienated beneath
the vast splendor of stars
that invite trust in the divine

I find my thoughts cast
on whispered memories
from another season of life
when I had the faith of a child.

There was no searing doubt for
the Immortal Being that made
Himself known in writing
read to me by lantern light.

Oh the duality of past and present
where now I sit in a constant hebetude
enamored by this laughing world
where I seek my adjunct pleasures.

Sitting alone in the blanket of night
silently alienated beneath
the vast splendor of stars
that invite trust in the divine

I found the help I needed
to be reborn.

7 thoughts on “Born Again

    1. Thank you so much for the read and the compliment. 😊 Always appreciate your support and your posts.

      Maybe the lantern light adds to the thought of it being in the past? Maybe lanterns are just cool? Maybe both? Lol. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

