Nastalgia leaves melancholy in its wake…

When I look back I see a time when I was forced to be with the same people every single day…. 

I see a time when adults with more wisdom and experience than I could fathom spent more than half of their time pouring into me willingly….

I see playgrounds, hurt knees and field trips with bad memories that we laughed about later…. It was worth it for that… 

I see sleepless nights full of stupid dares and stunts that could have gotten us all killed…. 

I see silly jokes and songs made to help us study and borrowed pencils and paper…

I see food fights at lunch time and long walks downtown… We didn’t care where…

I see endless imagination and screaming at sports games… 

I see shared tears and long conversations because it was just us and our parents couldn’t help us…. 

Today I miss being a kid… Today I miss high school and college… 

Today… I miss all those people I was forced to spend time with every single day…

There will never be another time like those times again. 

Don’t be too quick to wish away your younger years. The grass always looks greener on the other side, but it rarely ever turns out to be when you get there. 

Focus on the present and you’ll only ever be worried about the grass beneath your own feet. That’s more than enough.

Stop This Train – John Mayer

Leave a Reply

